The 15 men and women who serve on the Board of Trustees lead RMHF

and determine the values that guide our actions and investments.


deborah l ulmer

Deborah L. Ulmer, RN, PhD, PhD

Chair, Executive Committee Chair

Retired, Department Chair of Nursing and Director of Nursing Programs, Longwood University

Reginald E. Gordon, Esq.

Vice Chair

Director, Office of Community Wealth Building, City of Richmond

Michele A.W. McKinnon, Esq.


Partner and Chair of Nonprofits and Tax-Exempt Organizations, McGuire Woods

danny tk avula

Danny TK Avula, MD, MPH

Immediate Past Chair

Public Health Director, Richmond City and Henrico County

A. Dale Cannady

Finance & Audit Committee Chair

Retired, President and CEO of SunTrust Bank, Central Virginia

Richard L. Grier, Esq.

Legacy of Hope Taskforce Chair

Director, Thompson McMullan

jr hipple

J.R. Hipple

Policy & Advocacy Taskforce Chair

Managing Partner, SIR Communications

Rosalyn Hobson Hargraves, PhD

Community Engagement Taskforce Chair

Associate Vice President for Inclusive Excellence at Virginia Commonwealth University

Matthew J. Illian

Advisor to the Purpose Driven Investor

John Moeser, PhD

Professor, Department of Urban Studies and Planning, Virginia Commonwealth University. Senior Fellow at the University of Richmond’s Bonner Center for Civic Engagement. Retired.

William R. Nelson, MD, MPH

Program and Evaluation Committee Chair

Retired, Director, Chesterfield Health District

Joe Schilling

Arts & Equity Taskforce Chair

Director of Communications and Special Assistant to the President, Reynolds Community College

Abraham Segres

Governance & Trusteeship Committee Chair

Vice President, Quality and Patient Safety, Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association

Robert L. Thalhimer

Investment Committee Chair

Senior Consultant, The Monument Group

vanessa walker harris

Vanessa Walker Harris, MD

Equity Taskforce Chair

Deputy Secretary of Health and Human Resources for Governor Ralph Northam